Skip to Main Content

Library Services

Research Checklist and Process: Home

Go Back: Research and Referencing

 

Research Checklist and Process:

Download a copy of the checklist using this link: Research Checklist

Download a copy of the resource list using this link: Resource List

Download a copy of the note making page using these links:  Website notes, Magazine and Journal notes, Book notes

(Hint: save your downloaded page with a different name e.g. ResourcesWWI, WebNotesWWI.doc etc)

 Research Checklist – Summary

Before Research During Research After Research
Step 1: Unpack the question or task Step 1: Locate your sources  Step 1: Self check
Step 2: Plan your time   Step 2: Evaluate your sources Step 2: Create your final product
  Step 3: Make your notes Step 3: Evaluate your performance
  Step 4: Create your bibliography  
  Step 5: Create your first draft  

Research Checklist – Step by Step

Before Research

This is the planning stage. Before you begin your research task make sure you understand all the requirements.

Step 1: Unpack the question or task.

Content – What am I being asked to discover/learn/find out about? What are the key words and ideas?

                                                                                   
Process – What sources do I need to use? How will I make notes? How will I keep a record of the sources I have used?  

Instructions – What instructions have I been given about the task?

                                   
Product – What is the format of the final product? Report/Essay/Oral presentation? Paper or Digital?  
Outcomes & Marking Criteria – What are the expectations? What do I need to do to get the best marks? What skills do I need to demonstrate?  
Audience – Who will be the audience? How will this affect how I will create and present my final product?  
Word limit/Length –What special instructions have I been given about how much to do?  
What do I already know?  
I need help with …..Ask your teacher to clarify anything you do not understand before you begin.  

 

Step 2: Plan your time.

What do I need to do? When do I need to do it?
Finding information    Date:    
Making notes Date:    
First draft Date:    
Due date Date:    

During Research

Don’t forget to note down the bibliographic details (title,author, URl for websites) as you work so you can write a bibliography later.

Step 1: Locate your sources.

What sources do I need to use? Where can I find it?
  • Primary or secondary sources?
  • Brief factual information?
  • Current information?
  • Detailed or specialised information?
  • Websites
  • The ‘Invisible Web’ (subscription databases not available on the Web)

 Go to the

Online Databases

  • Print sources in the library – Books and Journals
  • Multimedia sources – TV programs on video, DVD, or Clickview.

Make a list of the sources that you find in your Resource List. If they are not available when you see them in the library catalogue you can ask the librarian to reserve them for you. You can also note which resources turned out not to be useful and avoid revisiting them later.

Step 2. Evaluate your sources
Don’t forget anyone can put things on the web so you need to make sure the information is reliable.

This checklist will help you assess the usefulness of all your sources of information. For more information on Evaluating Websites check out the links on the Library Pages under Research and Referencing.

• What does the URL tell you?
• Who is the author/producer?
• Is the information current?
• What is the purpose of this source?
• Is the information accurate, relevant, or biased?
• Does it answer your question or add to your understanding?

Some indicators of lack of suitability
• No author
• Bad grammar or misspelled words
• No date
• If a website, the page is not being maintained – check the date of the last update
• Information is biased or one-sided
• Main purpose is for advertising

Abbreviations used in website addresses:
.edu – education or research
.gov – government
.com – commercial
.org – organisation
.mil – military

 

Step 3. Make your notes

Your notes will form the raw materials for your finished product If you don’t have good notes, you won’t have a good final product. Don’t forget to respect the intellectual property of others by not plagiarising!

  • Choose a format which suits your learning style, eg. Mind map, grid or table
  • Remember to add your own thoughts, ideas and interpretations about the topic, don’t just cut and paste or copy someone else’s words and ideas.
  • Make sure you know the difference between summarising, paraphrasing and quoting
  • Look for simple facts (who, what, when, where), ideas and opinions (anything that is not a fact, avoid plagiarising by interpreting, abbreviating, and summarising this information before using it), and stuff you don’t understand (don’t use this information until someone helps you understand it)

One method of note making is to use the template below.

Record bibliographic details here:

AUTHOR                                    (DATE OF PUBLICATION)                                                         
TITLE  

(PUBLISHER AND

PLACE OF PUBLICATION)

  

Make notes here:

FROM THE SOURCE (AUTHOR’S IDEAS) IN YOUR OWN WORDS
  Paraphrase, summarise, quote.
Include your ideas and interpretations.
Use this information in your final product

Step 4: Create your Bibliography page

Use the bibliography template in your diary or on the library homepage under Research Bibliographies

You must always include a bibliography as evidence of your hard work and to show that you have respected the intellectual property of others

Step 5. Create your first draft

After Research

Step 1. Check:

  • Unpacking the question or task
  • Make sure you have communicated what you have learned
  • Did you answer the question?

Step 2. Create your final product or report

Step 3. Evaluate:

How can you do it better the next time?

(Adapted from: Knox Grammar School, 2007, Library & Information Services.

Retrieved: February 8, 2008 from: docushare.knox.nsw.edu.au/docushare/dsweb/View/Collection-1791)